New Training Completion Certificate Law
(May enable you to not have to take driving test at MVD)
Beginning January 12, 2015, any Authorized Driving Training Providers such as NControl Driving School, can begin training to issue a Training Completion Certificate (TCC) to Arizona residents who successfully complete 10 hours
of behind the wheel training. These certificates may waive State exams at MVD offices. Approximately one-in-five certificate holders will be randomly selected (system generated) to take a State exam for quality control purposes.
Already taking our 103B Course? You can always add on an additional hour that includes the Training Completion Certificate.
Graduated Instruction Permit (CLASS G)
Eligibility to obtain Graduated Instruction Permit:
If you are at least 16, but less than 18, years of age you will be issued a graduated driver license that is valid to operate any vehicle that does not require a motorcycle or commercial driver license.
To apply for a graduated license you must have held an Arizona instruction permit for at least six months. The permit must be valid at the time of application. You must also have satisfactorily completed an Arizona driver education program approved by MVD, or your parent or guardian must certify in writing that you have completed at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice, including at least 10 hours at night.
Note: A parent or legal guardian will be required to assist a teen driver in applying for and earning a Graduated Driver License. An explanation of a parent's or legal guardian's roles and responsibilities can be found here.
If you hold a current and valid out-of-state driver license, you are exempt from the driver education/driving practice and instruction permit requirements.
VERY IMPORTANT GRADUATED LICENSE INFORMATION:
For the first six months of driving after getting a license for teens ages 16-18, there are certain restrictions that you want to make sure you are aware of.
Click here (or copy this link and paste into your browser):
to find the following information:
- An explanation of a parent's or legal guardian's roles and responsibilities
- Graduated Instruction Permit Requirements
- Graduated Driver License Requirements
- Motorcycle Permit or Driver License Requirements
This is very important information for parents to read as something as simple as having one too many non-related people in the vehicle can cause penalties for the teens AND the parents if they are under the age of 18.